This website uses cookies

This websites contains videos from YouTube. This company uses cookies (third party cookies). If you do not want them to use these cookies, you can indicate so here. However, this does mean that you will not be able to watch videos on this website. We also make use of our own cookies in order to improve our website. We don't share our data with other parties. Which cookies are involved?

This website uses cookies to enable video and to improve the user experience. If you do not want to accept these cookies, indicate so here. Which cookies are involved?

Ga direct naar de inhoud, het hoofdmenu, het servicemenu of het zoekveld.

Back to overview

Thijn Brummelkamp group


Thijn Brummelkamp

Group leader

Personal details


Thijn Brummelkamp received his Msc in biology from the Free University in Amsterdam, in 1998. He did his graduate research at The Netherlands Cancer Institute in the group of René Bernards and received his PhD cum laude from Utrecht University in 2003. After his PhD he was appointed as group leader (Whitehead Fellow) at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research in Cambridge, USA. In 2011 his laboratory moved to the Netherlands Cancer Institute in Amsterdam and he became an Adjunct PI at Center for Molecular Medicine (CeMM) in Vienna.

For his studies he received the Antoni van Leeuwenhoek Award (2003), The Annual NVBMB Award (2004, Dutch Association for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), he was chosen as one of the world's top 35 Young Innovators by MIT's Technology Review Magazine (2005) and received the Kimmel Scholar Award (2006). He received an ERC starting grant from the European Research Council (2012), the 2012 Molecular Biosystems Early Career Award and he will receive the EMBO Gold Medal 2013.

Selected Research Achievements:

  • Described a system for expression of shRNA molecules (with Reuven Agami and Rene Bernards, 2002)
  • Carried out the first RNAi screen in human cells (2003) and
  • Assigned a function to the cyldindromatosis tumor suppressor gene (with Sebastian Nijman, Annette Dirac and Rene Bernards, 2003)
  • Envisioned and developed shRNA barcode screens (with Rene Bernards and Roderick Beijersbergen, 2003, 2006)
  • Identified the mammalian Hippo signaling pathway as a link between organ size and stem cell compartments (with Fernando Camargo, 2007)
  • Developed an approach for haploid genetics in human cells (with Jan Carette, 2009)
  • Reported the first cellular receptor for a toxin produced byClostridium difficile(with the laboratory of Klaus Aktories, 2011)
  • Defined NPC1 as the long-sought intracellular receptor for Ebola virus (with the teams of John Dye, Kartik Chandran and Sean Whelan, 2011, 2012)
  • Identified a suite of genes needed for glycosylation of alpha-Dystroglycan, critical for Lassa virus entry and mutated in Walker-Warburg syndrome (with the groups of Sean Whelan and Hans van Bokhoven, 2013)



Share this page